HCVF in Different Standards

Even though general introduction to the concept of high conservation value forest and its description were thoroughly described by Proforest team and Forest Stewardship Council, there are number of different standards, especially on national levels, that cover in greater details definitions of HCVF. Some of these standards also cover specifically how HCVF can be identified.

On this page we made an attempt to gather information on how HCVF concept is represented in different standards.

  1. Russia
  2. In Russia, high conservation value forest concept is considered in three standards. These standards are being developed and currently supported by national initiatives of voluntary forest certification. FSC Principles and Criteria for Forest Stewardship (2002) are an internationally recognized standard for responsible forest management. However, any international standard should be adapted to national or regional conditions by taking into account various legal, social and geographic conditions in which forests of different parts of the world exist. In practice, it means that it is necessary to develop, in addition to FSC Principles and Criteria for Forest Stewardship, special indicators with a set of measurable means of verification to evaluate forests at a level of management unit. The FSC standard of forest stewardship can be developed for the country as a whole or for its parts (regions).

    •  Russian National Framework Forest Stewardship Council

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 44 kb > > > > Download

    •  Russian National Council of Forest Certification

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 84 kb > > > > Download

    •  National Council for Voluntary Forest Certification in Russia

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 72 kb > > > > Download

  3. Canada
  4. In Canada only one standard is associated with high conservation value forests. This Standard was developed by the Forest Stewardship Council Canada Working Group (FSC Canada) and accredited by FSC on August 5, 2004 as a basis for certifying forests within the Canadian boreal forest. FSC Canada is an authorized National Initiative of the international FSC organization and, in developing this standard for the Canadian boreal forest, it is providing a regional interpretation of FSC's international Principles and Criteria. This version of the standard consists of FSC's ten principles and 56 criteria, with many indicators and verifiers: that have been customized to reflect conditions in the Canadian boreal forest. This introductory section provides an overview of the FSC, the goals of this standard, the manner in which this standard was developed, and the overall boreal forest context.

    • FSC Canada

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 52 kb > > > > Download

  5. Sweden
  6. Just the same way as in Canada, Sweden proposes only one standard that defines concept of high conservation value forests. FSC in Sweden, called Svenska FSC, is a national based, not for profit organization and one of FSCs national initiatives, often referred to as NIs. The Swedish organization is in structure similar to FSC international. The organizations membership, board of directors and standard committee are each divided into a social-, an environmental- and an economic chamber. For the board of directors, the members elect nine representatives, three in each chamber. The board has the task to appoint a standard committee, a marketing committee and when needed a dispute resolution committee. The board of directors of Svenska FSC is responsible for the development and management of the Swedish FSC forest management standard. This implies the development and clarification of indicators adapted to Swedish conditions which are then used in FSC-certified forest management. The constituents of Svenska FSC are not only responsible to support certifiers in the use of the standard, but also to spread information about FSC, safeguard the integrity of the FSC trademark and to handle the contact with FSC international.

    • FSC Sweden

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 160 kb > > > > Download

  7. Finland
  8. Similar to two previous countries Canada and Sweden, there is only one standard for forest management concerning HCVF developing by Finnish FSC Working Group. This Group had its founding meeting on October 18, 2000. The purpose of the group was to develop FSC certification standards for Finland. On June 15, 2001, Finnish FSC Association was founded as an registered association, to act as the official national FSC initiative in Finland. 10 members of the FSC working group joined the association. It was agreed that the Finnish FSC Working Group' would thereafter refer to the FSC Association. The old FSC Working Group' with 32 members was continued as the Finnish FSC standards committee' under the aegis of the FSC Association. The Finnish FSC Working Group (Finnish FSC Association) has designed the indicators for the Forest Stewardship Council Principles and Criteria to suit the conditions in Finland, in short 'the Draft FSC Standard for Finland'. The FSC Standard does not seek to be a comprehensive guide to forest management. In addition to the Standard, recommendations issued by the Finnish Forestry Development Centre Tapio, or those of the member organizations of the international FSC can be applied.

    • FSC Finland

    HCVF description from this standard in pdf > > > > 220 kb > > > > Download


    Copyright © 2006 HCVF